Caroline County Commissioners

Services Provided: 

Caroline County is governed by a three member Board of County Commissioners, which fulfills both legislative and executive functions. The basic duties and responsibilities of the County Commissioners are: - Enact County laws and establish County policies - Decide what taxes are charged and set the rate - Set the County operating and capital budgets - Oversee the management of County departments and operations - Approve contracts and agreements - Promote welfare of Caroline County - Submit proposed changes of state law to the Maryland General Assembly

The Commissioner hold meeting on the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. Work Sessions are held the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of every month at 9:00 a.m. Meetings are sometimes cancelled due to holidays or other circumstances, so please check the schedule to confirm the meeting. Meetings are held at the Caroline County Courthouse, 109 Market Street, Room 106, Denton, Maryland. There may be occasional advertised "on-the-road" meetings around the county, so check the schedule to confirm location. Open meetings are an important part of the democratic process. The commissioners meetings are where all important decisions regarding your local government are made - from adopting new legislation to setting the budget. All residents are encouraged to attend Commissioners meetings.

To facilitate citizen participation, there are open public comment periods at the beginning and end of each Commissioners meeting. However, most citizen concerns can be resolved without attending a meeting. If you have a question or concern, we encourage you to fill out this form or call out office at 410-479-0660. Our staff is committed to exceptional constituent services and will follow up with you within one business day.

Mailing Address: 
Caroline County Courthouse
109 Market Street Rm. 123
Denton, MD 21629
Larry Porter, President
Sara B. Visintainer, Chief of Staff
Wilbur Levengood Jr., Vice President
Daniel J. Franklin, Commissioner